Tag Archives: Blake Friedmann Literary Agency

A White Christmas on Winter Street – publication day!

Every publication day brings fresh joy. It’s the reward for many months of work and worry, edits and head-scratching. Something that began with an idea and a page of scribble appears on supermarket shelves with gold foil and shiny touches. It has my name on the cover.

At the risk of sounding like an Oscar winner, I’d like to thank everyone involved: my agent Juliet Pickering and everyone at Blake Friedmann Literary Agency who will be trying to sell it on to other markets; and editor Thorne Ryan and all at Avon Books UK. This latter includes marketing and publicity, sales, the typesetter, the proofreader, the copy editor and no doubt others that slip beneath my radar. To write a book takes one person but to publish it takes a team.

And, of course, I’d like to thank everybody who buys the book or borrows it from a library, who posts a review (especially the nice ones), tells their friends about the book or talks about it online. Readers are everything to a writer.

Here’s the blurb for A White Christmas on Winter Street, which is available from today:

When Sky Terran returns to the village of Middledip after losing the job she loves, she anticipates a quiet Christmas getting used to her new life. However, the annual street decoration competition is coming up and this year, the residents of Winter Street are determined to win.

As she is pulled into the preparations, Sky quickly grows to love the quirky, tight-knit community she is now part of. Including the extremely handsome Daz, who soon becomes more than just a friendly neighbour.

But when Daz’s ex turns up determined to win him back and it seems he might not be the man Sky thought he was, she remembers how much allowing people into her life – and heart – can hurt. As the snow falls, will she and Daz find a way through – and help win a Christmas victory for Winter Street?

Advertisement

4 Comments

Filed under Sue Moorcroft

Publication day for #UnderTheItalianSun @AvonBooksUK @BFLAgency

It’s publication day!

Under the Italian Sun hits shelves and devices today and I hope readers enjoy the escape to a sunny plateau high above a vineyard in Italy.

It was an absolute pleasure to write this book. Everyone else had to stay close to home but every day I could leave … at least in my imagination. Bodily I might have been in my study in England but in my head I was with Zia as she drove to Italy to search out Lucia Costa, the woman who she thought was partly responsible for Zia’s mouthful of a name – Zia-Lucia Costa Chalmers.

Lucia’s also the woman Zia thinks holds the key to who Zia’s till-then-unknown father is and even which Victoria Chalmers is actually Zia’s mother. Lucia loved Zia as a baby … but how will they get on now Zia’s a woman? Lucia, like her neighbour Piero, is fighting to keep her home, a fight Zia sometimes helps and occasionally unwittingly hinders. And Piero’s fighting so hard he almost lets Zia slip through his fingers.

I thoroughly enjoyed weaving the mystery of Zia’s past and whether she can find a family and a future in Italy. I hope it carries you away, as it did me.

Under the Italian Sun is available in ebook, audio and paperback.
Get it at bookshops, supermarkets and online retailers or using the links below:

Buy Under the Italian Sun in the UK in paperback

Download Under the Italian Sun in the UK as an ebook

Buy Under the Italian Sun in the UK as an audiobook

Buy Under the Italian Sun in the US in paperback

Download Under the Italian Sun in the US as an ebook

Buy Under the Italian Sun in the US as an audiobook

3 Comments

Filed under Sue Moorcroft

It’s Cover Reveal Day! @Avonbooksuk @BFLAgency

It’s always a thrill to first see a new cover and then share it with others. Here’s the wonderfully appealing cover of Christmas Wishes, which will be published in the UK in ebook on 29th October and paperback and audio 12th November 2020.

Christmas Wishes front cover

Here’s the back image and blurb of Christmas Wishes.

The back cover and blurb of Christmas Wishes.

A sparkling Christmas read from the Sunday Times bestseller – perfect to snuggle up with this winter!

Hannah and Nico are meant to be together.

But fate is keeping them apart…

As soon as Hannah bumps into her brother Rob’s best friend Nico in Stockholm, the two rekindle a fast friendship. But Hannah has a boyfriend – and Nico has two children to look after.

When Hannah loses her beloved shop in Stockholm, though, she is forced to move back to the little village of Middledip – only to find Nico has just moved in too. Under the same snowy sky, can the childhood friends make a romance work – or are there too many obstacles standing in their way?

A heartwarming story of love, friendship, and Christmas magic, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Jill Mansell.

I loved the research for Christmas Wishes when my friend and wonderful author Christina Courtenay invited me to accompany her to Sweden. We stayed with her mum, Birgitta, for seven of the ten days and the other three days in Stockholm. Sweden’s a gorgeous country and I enjoyed every moment. I’m sure I’ll blog about the snow, the ice hockey, the gold vault, the bridges, the Old Town and the vast open-air museum of Skansen at a later date.

Meanwhile, if you’d like your copy of Christmas Wishes as soon as it’s published, you can preorder it now!

Click to preorder Christmas Wishes in the UK button image
Click to preorder Christmas Wishes in the UK

And Christmas Wishes was even mentioned in the most recent edition of The Bookseller. I hope you enjoy travelling between Middledip and Sweden with Hannah and Nico.

Image of Christmas Wishes in The Bookseller.

Thanks to Avon Books UK and my cover artist Carrie May for another winner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sue Moorcroft