Carole Blake

This week publishing has lost a bright light and an incredible woman. Carole Blake eased my way into becoming a client of the fantastic Blake Friedmann agency by introducing me to my agent, Juliet Pickering, which led to my contracts with Avon HarperCollins, Fischer, Bazar and with another possibility waiting in the wings. The loss is personal to me but so much more so to her family, colleagues at the agency, and her clients. My friend Liz Fenwick speaks movingly of Carol on the Vulpes Libres blog:

Vulpes Libris

Yesterday, the publishing world was stunned by the news of the sudden death of Carole Blake, co-founder of the Literary Agency Blake Friedmann and author of the perennial best seller, ‘From Pitch to Publication’.

We asked one of the many writers she represented – Liz Fenwick – for her memories of one of the publishing industry’s titans:

~~~:~~~

Carole and LizAs I write this I’m struggling to believe that a woman of such vitality as Carole isn’t here any more. The world is a lesser place for her loss. She is also someone who is hard to write about without using superlatives – and I can hear her voice in my head, editing me.

But I have to say that she was so vibrant, so loving, so fierce and so passionate, I can’t believe all that energy is gone – and gone far too soon. She had only just celebrated her seventieth…

View original post 847 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Carole Blake

  1. A moving post that brought tears to my eyes again. Not only was Carole Blake an amazingly talented literary agent, but she was a nice human being too. She shared with her Facebook friends, liked, and when you commented on a post she always replied. On a personal note, when I wrote my first novel, Carole took the time to advise, help, and encourage me. A great literary agent. A greater person.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

