What do you get from Writers’ Holiday?

Last week, I spent from Sunday evening to Friday morning at Writers’ Holiday.

I’ve been to Writers’ Holiday most years for the past eleven, either as a tutor or a delegate, and I’ve loved it every time. It’s a great value-for-money residential experience with courses, talks, panels, ad hoc classes, a concert and a trip, along with great food, drink and company. This is the last year that Writers’ Holiday will be held at Caerleon, south Wales, at the university campus. From next summer it will be held in west Wales at the Fishguard Hotel, Fishguard.

I meet so many lovely writers at Writers’ Holiday, and have so much fun/earnest discussion/networking over a glass of wine. I even get quite a bit of writing time in my room (yes, my trusty iMac comes with me), when I can forget most other jobs and kick back and let the words out. I love the village, too. Caerleon was an important Roman settlement and the Roman baths, museum and amphitheatre have whiled away many happy hours for me. Also the Hanbury Arms – well, it would be rude not to sit outside by the river when the sun’s shining, wouldn’t it?

Do you like my new hat?

Do you like my new hat?

Here are some of my favourite pix from this year.

Christina Courtenay at the remains of the amphitheatre

Christina Courtenay at the remains of the amphitheatre

A hologram having a swim at the Roman baths

A hologram having a swim at the Roman baths

The Cwm Bach Male Choir gets going in the bar

The Cwm Bach Male Choir gets going in the bar

 

 

 

 

 

So, it’s goodbye to Caerleon. And hello to Fishguard!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What do you get from Writers’ Holiday?

  1. Lesley Dawson

    I love the picture of the hologram having a swim. That’s clever. Not so sure about the new hat though. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

