What happened at the RoNAs

Jane Wenham Jones introduces Judy Finnigan and Richard Madeley

Jane Wenham Jones introduces Judy Finnigan and Richard Madeley

Well, I had an excellent time!

I didn’t win my category – that honour went to the lovely Katie Fforde – but I had an absolute blast at the party at the RAF Club in London’s Piccadilly. It’s a gorgeous venue and the staff kept the canapes and wine coming all evening.

And almost as Jane Wenham-Jones introduced the guests of honour, Richard & Judy, someone tripped or something and sent me absolutely flying. So I arrived on my bum pretty much at the feet of Richard and Judy to begin the proceedings with a bang. You’d think they’d have given me the RoNA just for that, really, wouldn’t you? But no …

Here’s the full list of winners:

Contemporary Romantic Novel winner – Katie Fforde
Epic Romantic Novel winner – Rowan Coleman
Historical Romantic Novel winner – Charlotte Betts
Romantic Comedy Novel winner – Jenny Colgan
Young Adult Romantic Novel Winner – Victoria Lamb

And the winners above go forward now to the Romantic Novel of the Year Award in May.

RoNA Rose – Sarah Mallory

Sophie Kinsella presented with Outstanding Achievement Award

Congratulations to them all. You can find photos on the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s website here.

My thanks to everybody concerned in the running of the RoNAs. I know a huge amount of hard work went into it and the event was just amazing, honestly. Slick and controlled (apart from the odd person flying through the air) and joyous.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What happened at the RoNAs

  1. I didn’t realise you fell over too! You must have leapt up quick – that’s the Zumba training! It was a brilliant night and I have to agree – those canapes and drinks were going round like never before. It was my first RoNA awards ceremony and I will definitely be going next year!

    Mandy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I managed to stay upright! It was the lovely lady next to me doing the projector that fell over – down like a set of dominoes then by the sounds of it! Hope the bra recovered!

    Like

  3. Sounds like the wine was flowing a little too freely! Glad you had a good time and congratulations to all the winners.

    Nari X

    Like

Leave a Reply

