Talli Roland’s dreams – a blessing or a curse?

From the lovely, lively Talli Roland, today’s contribution to the Dream a Little Dream blogathon. Thank you, Talli!

Talli writes:

I am nothing if not a prolific dreamer. A notoriously light sleeper, my night-times are full of tossing and turning amidst techicoloured adventures. Any given morning, I can recall my mind’s romps – from the trivial to the fantastic to the horrifying. A blessing or a curse?  Ask my husband when I’m angry at him for some dreamtime misdemeanor! (This morning, you’ll be happy to hear, I was a very pleasant wife indeed. In last night’s visions, he let me eat the last piece of cake. Bonus!)

Thankfully, I rarely have nightmares. I usually maneuver myself out of any awkward situations before something terrible happens, managing to bring about a happy ending. I guess my subconscious is suited to writing romantic comedies: even in sleep, I refuse to let things end on an off-note.

I wish I could say my dreams bring inspiration, but mostly they’re a random jumble of incoherent events, like bits of a film all mixed up. As with most people, they’re influenced by the day’s events or worries. When I’m deep in editing, I dream of endless word deletions and marauding red pens. When I have a novel set to release, my mind conjures up bad reviews and scathing remarks. These are the nights I’d prefer not to remember!

Still, I consider dreams my very own built-in entertainment system. What more could a sleeping soul ask for?

Talli Roland writes fun, romantic fiction. Born and raised in Canada, Talli now lives in London, where she savours the great cultural life (coffee and wine). Despite training as a journalist, Talli soon found she preferred making up her own stories–complete with happy endings. Talli’s debut novel The Hating Game was short-listed for Best Romantic Read at the UK’s Festival of Romance, while her second, Watching Willow Watts, was selected as an Amazon Customer Favourite. Her novels have also been chosen as top books of the year by industry review websites and have been bestsellers in Britain and the United States. Construct A Couple is her latest release. To learn more about Talli, go to www.talliroland.com or follow Talli on Twitter: @talliroland. Talli blogs at talliroland.blogspot.com.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Talli Roland’s dreams – a blessing or a curse?

  1. Thank you for hosting me today, Sue!

    Like

  2. My favourite dreams are those which come to me when I am completely immersed in a Really Good Book, when the images and language of what I am reading permeate my night time wanderings! And yes I know what you mean about dreams where we have arguments with our husbands and then can’t let them go for some time after waking up.xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

