Workshops and the Festival of Romance 2012

On Saturday I gave a one-day workshop on writing short stories for publication or competition hosted by The Write Place at The Mick Jagger Centre, Dartford. Attendees ranged from beginners to those who sell regularly to the weekly magazine market – I put aside thoughts of ‘teaching Gran to suck eggs’ in favour of ‘pooling our knowledge’ – and it was a good mix.

I’m pleased to have lost weight in the last few months but that would soon change if I visited The Write Place very often. We began with Chocolate Hobnobs, had Mars Bar sweets on the desk, went on to a fabby lunch (thank you Elaine) and sumptuous afternoon cakes (thank you Francesca), rounded out with bottomless tea and coffee. Gorgeous.

The attendees were engaged and reactive and I couldn’t believe how quickly the day whizzed by. Suddenly I was handing out handouts and signing books and it was all over.

My thanks to everyone who attended, Elaine and Francesca for doing all the hard work of putting on the workshop, and to Mick Everest for the photograph.

On the subject of workshops, I’ll be leading one at the Festival of Romance 2012 16th-18th November (Festival programme here). These are the workshops for the 17th November:

9.30-11.45am Writing Pocket Novels/Category Romance with Sally Quilford
11.45-2pm Writing Fiction for Magazines with Helen Hunt
2.15-4.30pm Writing Romantic Novels with Sue Moorcroft

Straight after my workshop I’ll be heading for the Meet the Author Rockstar Party, followed by the evening party. As there’s a ball on the evening before (Friday), you can see why the Festival of Romance is my kind of event. I had such a great time there, last year (nothing to do with Love & Freedom winning the Best Romantic Read Award, of course) that I can’t wait to get back.

You can see from the programme that there are loads of great events throughout the three days of the Festival. My hotel room is already booked …

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Workshops and the Festival of Romance 2012

  1. Thoroughly enjoyed the workshop Sue, thank you 🙂

    See you at Caerleon, and hopefully in Italy (trying to persuade the husband that I NEED to go lol).

    Xx

    Like

  2. Jayne

    Yes great workshop Sue – enjoyed it. Italy does sound tempting:0)

    Like

Leave a Reply

