Winners of the Choc Lit Short Story Comp

When lovely Choc Lit asked me and Margaret James to judge the Choc Lit  Short Story Competition, I had no idea it would make me so hungry.

Every story had to be about chocolate. It’s possible to write a story in just about any genre, on that subject, as we soon discovered. Love stories predominated, but we had crime, paranormal, thriller, horror, the lot. There was every kind of chocolate, too! I love chocolate and reading about it for three days was a special kind of torture.

I believe there were over 130 entries – it certainly took me a while to read my half of the list – so those on the shortlist did brilliantly.

To rise to the top of that list is an amazing achievement and my congratulations go to Lucy Mouland and Laura E James, winner and runner-up. Your stories are truly fabby. I hope you both found adequate ways of celebrating your success.

Lucy’s winning story can be read here.

And watch our for Choc Lit ‘s new short story competition, to be announced soon. You can win chocolate! (Oh, and money.)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Winners of the Choc Lit Short Story Comp

  1. Wow what a great winning story. Extremely detailed. I especially loved the description of veins on his hands like tangled barbed wire. Brilliant. A real treat. Thanks for posting.

    Like

  2. I have just read the winning story and I thought it was fantastic. Beautifully understated – great use of ‘chocolate’ and it really transported me to another world for a few minutes. I can see why it won. Well done to Lucy.

    Like

  3. Great story, Lucy. I really enjoyed reading it.

    Like

  4. I’m still on a learning curve with short stories, and I can the detail in the winning story, as well as the quick transportation to another time. Congratulations to Lucy!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Thinking Outside The (Packaging) Box | Blog About Writing

  6. What a story. Bowls you over. I thought I’d sent in a good one, doesn’t come near to this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

