Waterstone’s, Northampton

Thanks to everyone who came along to my signing at Waterstone’s, Northampton on Saturday. In the rain. Pouring rain! At least I gave you delicious Montezuma’s chocolate …

And you were able to hear the musicians in the photo, Paul Matthews (right) and Peter Hudson, On the Wrong, who began by singing some original songs of their own, but, upon request, sang a few covers, let toddlers dance around them and old ladies tell them stories about mandolins. You were great, guys.

You can see and hear a video clip, here.

And I don’t mind that someone asked me, ‘Are you just here with the band?’ honest. You entertained a lot of rainy Saturday book buyers.

As always, the Waterstone’s staff were great. My especial thanks to Emma and Nicky. (By amazing coincidence, Nicky used to be a teacher at the school that Paul and Peter used to attend and last saw them when they were about 13. She was pretty impressed with the way they turned out.)

And we sold some books, so that was good.

I attended the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s conference, the weekend before. In the pic you can see a parade of lovely Choc Lit authors: (L to R) Evonne Wareham, Margaret James, Me, Chris Stovell, Jane Lovering, Christina Courtenay, Kate Johnson.

And, just to prove that we kept our mind on important matters, here are our shoes:

I’m sure you’ll agree that Christina Courtenay’s sexy red monsters took the prize for the fabbiest.

I love the RNA conference but it did feel weird, this year, as it took place at Caerleon, always the venue for Writer’s Holiday, which I have attended for several years. It was a bit like going to a house you know but finding the wrong people in it.

Still, I will be driving off to Wales again on Sunday because … you’ve guessed it, it’s time for Writer’s Holiday! I love Writer’s Holiday, too, and am really looking forward to meeting loads of friends, old and new.

Oh, yeah, and I’m running a course – The Nuances of Fiction. I might even get a little work done on Dream a Little Dream. You never know. I’m taking my laptop but I often find that I spend too much of the week drinking wine and eating cake, to write.

Hope to see some of you there.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Waterstone’s, Northampton

  1. I would love to go to the Writer’s Holiday, and funnily enough my mum does have the kids, but I can’t really afford it 😦 Will have to save up for one though, now I know how close and easy Caerleon is for me (and if my mum will have the kids for a week again! lol – She might change her mind after this one).

    Have another fun trip. It was great meeting you at the RNA Conference.

    Like

    • Don’t know if it helps but I think you can pay for Writers’ Holiday in stages. You’d have to check that out, though. Sell some stories! Then you’ll be able to legitimately use the dosh for writerly pursuits.

      It was good to meet you, too.

      Like

      • Yes, I will work on selling stories… then will definitely have legitimate excuse, and the funds. Will check it out for next year, maybe 😉 Depends on getting the kids looked after too. When they’re older it will be easier, but don’t want to rush them growing up yet. …although I really do want to sell something lol!

        Like

  2. Writer’s Holiday looks amazing. One day I’d love to go to something like that (when my little darlings are old enough). I hope you had fun. Also I have read a lot about the RNA conference in the various places I visit online. I am totally in awe of the shoes. Everyone seems to focus on the shoes!

    Like

    • I think shoes must be the way to a woman’s heart! 🙂 No, it’s all fairly jokey, really – but the RNA members do like dressing up. There was one man at the conference, the rest women, but everyone went to the gala dinner glammed up to the nines, which goes to support those who say that women don’t dress for men, they dress for other women.

      Like

Leave a Reply

