Q “How do I get news of my book ‘out there’?”

My answer:

Book promo – now there’s a large topic!

I tend to promote myself as a writer, first, and promote any individual book second. Book reviews are useful, such as this lovely one, as is guest blogging, maintaining my own blog and building up followings on Twitter and Facebook. I also send out a newsletter whenever I have a reasonable amount of good news to impart (you can read my newsletter by going to http://www.suemoorcroft.com/contact.html and clicking ‘download here’  if you want to see what kind of thing I talk about, or you can fill in the form to subscribe). And I think my own website is a must. I’ve also created my Amazon Author’s Page (for free) and an email sign off that appears every time I send somebody a message.

Although some don’t see the appeal, both Twitter and Facebook have brought me not just new readers but journalist and radio presenter contacts. It takes a while to build up a following but not that much time every day to post updates. And if anybody reading this would like to follow me on Twitter or befriend me on Facebook, please do!

I get my name in the major writing magazines as often and as obviously as possible. I write my own columns but am also quoted in the columns of friends and professional contacts, and I never turn down an opportunity to give such a quote. Whatever and wherever I write, I try and get my books and/or website mentioned – although sometimes I have to work on editors for this free perk!

Yes, it’s all time consuming – all promo is, whether on-line or more traditional, such as a book signings, attending conferences etc

And you’ll all have noticed how I’ve used this post as an opportunity to get people clicking on my various online presences, because I’m a working writer and like nothing more than to make something out of nothing …

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Q “How do I get news of my book ‘out there’?”

  1. As you can see I came over to pick up some tips from an expert! Thank you!

    Like

  2. You’re an inspiration, Sue. Great stuff.

    Like

  3. debutnovelist

    Hi Sue
    Great summary of how to use the web to your (our?) advantage. So impressed you still get the writing done too. I seem to be able to manage only one or t’other!
    AliB

    Like

    • Hi Ali,

      Some days all I get done is promo! But, most days, I put aside a little time for Twitter and FB etc. But not this week because I’ve been away and now have to catch up, so ‘real’ work takes precedence. I need a secretary. 🙂

      Like

  4. Reblogged this on Writing, Work and Wine and commented:
    Brilliant piece on book promo from the award-winning author Sue Moorcroft…

    Like

Leave a Reply

